Josephine and Marvin Skipper


“If it hadn’t been for them Holliday’s”

“They deserved everything they had”

“There were resentments but they were so good to us.”

“Your grandfather took care of us.”

It was so nice to here these kind words. These comments were made by Josephine Skipper. She and her husband Marvin have lived in Galivants Ferry forever! They were the pillars of the Galivants Ferry Baptist Church while I was growing up. They are still a vital part of the Ferry fabric that holds the past and present together. They know lots of stuff.

.

Marvin was hired to be the manager of our Pee Dee Farms general store in 1947 where he stayed for 14 years. He had more stories but I’ll just tell you a few. He told me in the old store there was a cooler for meats. Marvin would then with the help of Press Daniels, Carl Peavy and Clyde Register kill the cows from the farm, in the big red barn. He said they would” hand’em up “to him and put them on a big meat block ‘so Marvin could ‘cut’em up!” Every Saturday morning was meat cuttin’ days. The Farmers would come to the store with their wagons to buy all sorts of items. Fatback was 5 cent a pound, hoop cheese was popular and all necessary grocery items was available to go along with fresh cut meats. The store even sold clothes! Lingerie, boots, jeans shoes and fabrics plus sewing necessities were all for sale. The store catered to the farmers so there were barrels of seeds, fertilizer, nails, and screws. You name it! It was a one stop shop for the folks at the Ferry. If y’all want to, we can go explore the old attic and you’ll still see remnants of this historic store. Our family really never throws anything away and now I know where we got this notion from.

.

Marvin wanted me to tell y’all your granddaddy “was a wiz ‘n business.” He also said your Uncle Joseph, Judson’s daddy, “was a shrewd business man.” That sounds like it was a good combination, doesn’t it?

About christydouglas

I am married to David Douglas and we have three grown children. I love animals, hunting, traveling , photography and writing. I am a Presbyterian, but raised Baptist. I am very open minded and love to learn about other cultures and people all over this country and the world. I am reinventing myself by stepping out of my comfort zone to write three books and actually promote my work. We were raised to promote others so this is a twist. Welcome to my blogs.
This entry was posted in Books, Galivants Ferry SC, Galivants Ferry Stump, Holliday Family History, Horry County, Jack's look out road, my house was a zoo, the weather man was right, Myrtle Beach, Photography-South, SC, South, South Carolina and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment