The Peavy Family


Pictured below: Charlie Peavy
I can not reminisce about the Ferry without conjuring up memories of the Peavy Family.  There were and still are a huge family.  I can’t talk about all of them, but I do want to mention a few.
 Charlie Peavy – I loved this man and he loved me.  How do I know – I just knew.  He was the Father of Aaron Peavy and others.  I reckon you’d say he was the head of the “Peavy clan”.  If it weren’t for the Peavy family, I really don’t think our family, or the community, would have thrived like it did.  Charlie was a small framed man who always had a smile to share and he told the truth.  Even if you didn’t want to hear it.
.
LB Peavy – What a wonderful person! He treated me like I was one of his children.  He took me to school, picked me up and carried me to special occasions.  Even though his real job was running the Esso station, he played a big part in my school years, ‘cause Daddy and Uncle Joe wanted him to take me and Judson to wherever we were supposedto be going.  He wore an Esso cap on his bald head and drove Daddy’s Cadillac, which made him look a chauffeur.  He’d park right outside the school windows and peoplewould say “Christy your chauffeur is here!” – That drove me crazy.  He just would nottake that cap off. I was embarrassed but LB was proud to pick me up because I was like his own daughter.
.
Billy Peavy – Billy had thick black curly hair.  He worked around the Ferry, too. He was a little younger than the other ones who drove us to school. Sometimes he drove us to school and I’ll never forget how fast he drove on those back roads to Mullins! It was a race every morning down Pee Dee Road to 917 and on to McCormick elementary school. The school’s bell got us as we ran in the front doors, and went dashing down the halls to home room. Made me fell like I was in a NASCAR event on those mornings. It was worth being tardy.
.
Aaron Peavy- Aaron was one of Charlie’s children. He’s a handsome Christian gentleman, married to Kathleen, a beautiful woman on the inside and out. Aaron and Kathleen faithfully attend Galivants Ferry Church and when I return there they still giveme big ‘ole hugs!! I love them. I met at their house not to long ago and found out Aaron had been a navy seal. He doesn’t talk about it. He doesn’t want to brag. He also told me something else I didn’t know. Aaron also drove me here, there and yonder and was toldto PROTECT me, Aunt Russell and Uncle George. He said “Mr. Holliday told me to protect and keep an eye on us because he was afraid of kidnappers.” To sum it up, the Peavy’s were what I call “kin folk” They were a part of my life nearlyeveryday at the Ferry. Even when I went off to boarding school and college one of them helped take me there and got me settled in. That was special and fond memories thatsurround their images in my mind.

About christydouglas

I am married to David Douglas and we have three grown children. I love animals, hunting, traveling , photography and writing. I am a Presbyterian, but raised Baptist. I am very open minded and love to learn about other cultures and people all over this country and the world. I am reinventing myself by stepping out of my comfort zone to write three books and actually promote my work. We were raised to promote others so this is a twist. Welcome to my blogs.
This entry was posted in Books, Galivants Ferry SC, Galivants Ferry Stump, Holliday Family History, Horry County, Jack's look out road, my house was a zoo, the weather man was right, Myrtle Beach, Photography-South, SC, South, South Carolina and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment