William Murrow


I wish you three had grown up with a man like William. He could do anything. He is one of the first people in Galivants Ferry that really stands out from my childhood. He was there every day taking care of our animals and working for my mother in the yard, while also keeping an eye on me. William mainly helped me with riding horses. He would have them bridled and saddled for me when I came home from school. When I was a very young girl he would lead me around while I held on to the saddle horn. As I got older he would let me ride alone, but he made sure to close all the gates so if the horse ran away I couldn’t go into the highway! William protected me, I could count on him to be with me whether I was riding horses, driving go-carts, climbing trees, or skating. When I was out side playing you could bet your bottom dollar he was within sight or ear range. If a horse took off, William could stop him. If I got thrown off, he’d be the first to pick me up or call for help. I was a tomboy so cuts, bruises, and broken bones went with the territory. One special talent he had was the ability to “talk” warts off of the body. Ask Jane Graves, she will tell you.

Paul Owens described his grandfather “He was a hard worker He was born and died here at the Ferry.”

About christydouglas

I am married to David Douglas and we have three grown children. I love animals, hunting, traveling , photography and writing. I am a Presbyterian, but raised Baptist. I am very open minded and love to learn about other cultures and people all over this country and the world. I am reinventing myself by stepping out of my comfort zone to write three books and actually promote my work. We were raised to promote others so this is a twist. Welcome to my blogs.
This entry was posted in Books, Galivants Ferry SC, Galivants Ferry Stump, Holliday Family History, Horry County, Jack's look out road, my house was a zoo, the weather man was right, Myrtle Beach, Photography-South, SC, South, South Carolina and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment